2014 Taylor Prize winners announced


Renowned Alzheimer’s researchers have been awarded the J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine.

Currently in North America, an estimated six million individuals are living with Alzheimer’s disease and as our population ages, the number of people affected and the cost of treatment is expected to rise dramatically.

This year’s J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine recipients are tirelessly working to find ways to understand and treat Alzheimer’s and other neurodegenerative diseases before those numbers reach unsustainable proportions.

Western University’s Robarts Research Institute is pleased to announce that Virginia M.-Y. Lee, PhD, and John Q. Trojanowski, MD, PhD, leading Alzheimer’s researchers from the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, are co-recipients of the 2014 J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine.

Drs. Lee and Trojanowski are co-directors of the Marian S. Ware Alzheimer Drug Discovery Program at Penn and have been working as a collaborative team for the last two decades. Among the 10 most cited neuroscientists in the world, they have made major contributions to understanding the molecular basis of neurological disorders through their work uncovering major disease proteins in Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and frontotemporal degeneration. This research has opened up new avenues to identify targets for drug discovery and development of therapeutics.

“Their work has had an immense impact on our understanding of neurological disorders and on our ability to develop focused therapies,” said Arthur Brown, PhD, Robarts Research Institute scientist and chair of the Taylor Prize committee. “They have made an unparalleled contribution to the field of neuroscience.”

Robarts Research Institute at Western’s Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry has been awarding this prestigious international prize to leading scientists since 1985. The award will be presented to Drs. Lee and Trojanowski at the Leaders in Innovation dinner on Thursday, November 20, at the Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, London, Ontario. The evening highlights research into the molecular basis of neurodegenerative disorders.

The J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine is named after the founding Chair of the Board at Robarts, and includes a cash prize of $25,000 and a medal bearing the likeness of J. Allyn Taylor. The award is generously supported by the Stiller Foundation and the family of the late J. Allyn Taylor.